Various Artists - The Flavours EP, Vol. 3

Various Artists - The Flavours EP, Vol. 3

Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.


1: DJ Hype - Peace Love and Unity (Basher Remix) feat. MC Fats
2: Jaydan - Back Here feat. Mia Sylvester
3: Shimah - Origin of the Cave
4: DJ Devize & Shookz - Coming in Stealth feat. Mc Blu-Bomma
5: Sub Zero - Digital Blues
6: Rewind - Hunt Her Down

Playaz Recordings are proud to present the next instalment in their compelling Flavours series, the third in a critically acclaimed selection from the mighty DJ Hype and Pascal. Not content with maintaining the title of Drum and Bass pioneers, Playaz have scoured high and low to compile this selection of mouth watering flavours that are destined to keep you moving until the early hours, from bedrooms to dance floors the world over. Showcasing tracks from across the spectrum of the genre, the Flavours Volume 3 EP will cater for all tastes satisfying listeners with exclusive compositions and a remix of a well loved classic.

Opening the six (digital only) track EP is the phenomenal remix of Hype's Peace, Love and Unity by Basher which sees the timeless masterpiece revisited sixteen years after its original release on True Playaz. This time Peace, Love and Unity is much slower and darker whilst incorporating warping synths alongside MC Fats' emotive vocals. Next up is the atmospheric Back Here by Jaydan which will destroy any pre conceptions you may have held about his style of production as his versatility and expertise as a producer are presented here in all their glory. With its slow and relaxed opening, the track builds rapidly into an ascending beat that is soon met by distorted, robotic vocals. From that point, the bass launches full throttle into a musical assault complimenting the echoing sampling. You are sure to be hearing this causing mayhem at an event near you soon!

Shimah makes a welcome return to Playaz Recordings and this time it's the magnificent Origin of Cave that makes it onto the track listing. Opening with a deep bass line and warping synths, it's easy to see why it's entitled Origin of Cave as it conjures images of the dark abyss. If you hadn't already become a fan of Shimah, you sure are after hearing the brilliance displayed here. The fourth and final track that is released in both digital and vinyl formats is the vibrant show stopper Coming in Stealth by DJ Devize and Shookz which has received critical acclaim and has firmly remained in Hype's set lists from his radio show to club appearances for the past few months. This fast paced roller set against a wobbly bass line and rapid drum patterns will ensure that no one in the room is left standing still.

For those who opt for the digital release, there are the added bonus tracks Digital Blues by Sub Zero and Hunt Her Down by Rewind. Fresh from the phenomenal success of February's Bi Polar EP, Sub Zero once again shows his depth and breadth as a producer with the dark and intelligent Digital Blues which incorporates hauntingly beautiful vocals, a pulsating bass line and glittering piano samples. And finally, the Flavours Volume 3 EP is completed by newcomer Rewind's Hunt Her Down which revisits the broken beats of back in the day and offers a new flavour to the age old recipe. Alongside Peace, Love and Unity, Hunt Her Down will provide a nostalgic feel to this exquisite compilation.

For real Drum and Bass, keep it Real Playaz!